Shanghai Urban Planning Center

25 Jul

Yesterday (Sunday July 24), we had another day of ISA planned touring. At 9 in the morning we met in the hotel lobby to jump on our usual bus #67 and head to the Zhongshan Park Metro Station. Because my package from home with granola bars and dried fruit is still being held in Chinese Customs, Emily and I stopped by Starbucks in Zhongshan to grab some breakfast. I got a warm blueberry muffin, which was a delicious way to start my day off! We then took the metro to the People’s Square stop and then walked a few blocks to the Shanghai Urban Planning Center. To see the plans that China has for Shanghai, not only commercially but also residentially was almost overwhelming. The model for Shanghai in the year 2020 is very impressive and even more so considering the fact that China is right on track to make the model a reality.

We found in the 2020 model a restaurant in the French Concession that we love

Model for 2020 Shanghai

We then had lunch and then went to an Art Gallery. The gallery is in the process of being moved to a more suburban area so unfortunately many of the exhibits were closed off. Emily and I then branched off from the group to people watch while hydrating ourselves at a nearby Starbucks. We watched passer byers for about an hour and a half before we quickly hailed a cab and took off for the nearby French Concession. We still had an hour until we were supposed to meet Josh, Ryan, and Sarah at our favorite Mexican restaurant, Cantina Agave, therefore we headed to a tea shop that we had visited a couple of weeks before that is only about a block from the restaurant. We were able to try some of our favorite teas; green tea and oolong tea, as well as some cold tea. Emily bought 3 bags of tea, one oolong and two green. My ATM card was not working yesterday so I was not able to buy any tea, but I have already planned to go back to make some purchases! Also, I am still on the hunt for that perfect tea set!

After dinner, we headed back to the hotel to finally get some good rest. I had to spend some time studying for my Chinese language quiz today, (which I think I did pretty well on), but I was still able to get to bed at a reasonable hour. With today being Monday, I have gotten back into my class, gym, dinner routine, but hopefully since there is only 2 weeks left we will start to shake up the schedule a little bit!

Until next time!

2 Responses to “Shanghai Urban Planning Center”

  1. Cyndee July 26, 2011 at 3:39 am #

    Hey sweetie,glad to read ur doing well and still enjoying ur friends and time there. Hope u have figured out what’s going on with ur debit card. Let me know if I can help. Flight to pvg on 31st now has only 4 seats avble so think I’m going to have to leave here on aug 2 arriving there on 3rd. That’ll still give me 4th and 5th to shop, dine, etc b4 leaving 6th hopefully upstairs on the 747…how cool would that be?! So would u plz make us that reservation @ Pearl Tower for 4th, 5th or last choice 3rd? I am so frigging mad u still haven’t received ur fed ex pkg yet! I will call tom to make sure they r aware and file a complaint. Kelsey called today with unbelievable yet hilarious stories of her time in Lisbon, Portugal. She has to be the one to tell it in the way only she can!!! Kylie enjoyed fam beach trip. Said they all missed u and Kelsey. Hope u got to watch the Bachelorette. Don’t want to spoil it but 2 surprises I sure didn’t c coming. Will report to u on my fedex call tom. Love u EVER SO!!!!! Xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxox

  2. Joe Goodman July 27, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    Hi Honey, love the blog. Sounds like you are having a ball. Cant wait to see you. Dont forget to give me the details of the move to sorority house….its next week. Love you Dad

Leave a Reply

